Managing recent workspaces

Sometimes I have to abandon a workspace, especially if I’m using too many (see my previous post how many I have right now). But the workspace still shows up in the recent workspace list, even if the directory has been deleted. How can I get rid of an unwanted workspace? As always, there is a setting for this…

The setting is accessible under the menu Window > Preferences > General > Startup and Shutdown > Workspaces:

Managing Workspaces

Managing Workspaces

Here I can remove a workspace from the list. The same settings page configures the number of workspaces to remember, and if eclipse is prompting for it at startup time.

Hint: If you are wondering, where these settings are stored, then see this blog post. It is inside that file: \configuration\.settings\org.eclipse.ui.ide.prefs

Happy Workspacing 🙂

2 thoughts on “Managing recent workspaces

  1. I tried using your way but the window doesn’t show the existing workspaces (in Eclipse Mars). Although, was able to delete the unnecessary workspaces by removing them from \configuration\.settings\org.eclipse.ui.ide.prefs. So thank anyways 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.